Obsidian Eagle's Blasphemous Bazaar - avant-garde poetics, indie publishing, nom-de-plume

Obsidian Eagle's

Blasphemous Bazaar

META-Poems For A New Millennium

<br>META-Poems For A New Millennium<br><br>

The Flagship of Anti-Poetry — est. 2010

The Buddha's Four Noble Truths Explained

The Buddha's Four Noble Truths Explained

~ I: Dukkha (Cyclical Suffering) ~

It's self-evident fact for any astute observer that our world is pervaded by suffering. Lasting joy is elusive and most people are caught within vicious cycles of their own creation (via volition; the true meaning of Karma).

~ II: Sumudaya (Suffering's Source) ~

Individuals are each responsible for their own personal battles. This is because desire (in one form or another) lies at the root of all dissatisfaction. Furthermore, the wants of any one individual are often at odds with the needs of many others.

~ III: Nirodha (Suffering's Cessation) ~

It's possible for suffering to cease at both the personal and communal level, although only if its base causes are redressed.

~ IV: Magga (The Path) ~

There's a sure and steady path that leads away from Samsara and toward Nirvana. Said path consists primarily of meditation, which doesn't mean focusing on any particular object, but passive observation of the full body-mind spectrum (including all its contents and any ongoing interactions). As the Buddha himself put it: "Meditate diligently and practice mindfulness to attain thine own salvation!"

Image: Cosmic Buddha courtesy of ~lokispace

Don't be shy, REPLY!



* Except on Wall of Worthies
whereon rights are retained by respective authors.